2018 Prize Giving and Roller Racing

adminCyclo Cross, Grass Track, Mountain Biking, News, Road Racing, Roller Racing, Running, Swimming, Time Trials, Triathlon

For the second year the club’s prize giving evening was combined with the Chenery Rose Bowl Roller Racing competition. While several of the prize winners were unable to attend, there was still a healthy turnout to applaud the club’s 2017 champions. The full list of winners are below.

Prize Giving

With such a diverse club, there were trophies to be awarded across a wide range of disciplines and impressive performances to recognise from so many members. Laura Brown walked away with a box full of trophies having taken the Quantril Trophy (fastest 10 mile TT), the Millennium Trophy (Evening TT series Ladies winner) and the prestigious Hoxley Cup as Triathlete of the year amongst others.


Laura Brown with some of her trophy collection


Paul Vickers collected several TT trophies, drawing oohs and aahs for his impressive average speeds, but it was Richard Farrow that took the clubs Evening TT Series Trophy. Viv Smith proved a popular winner of the Collard Shield conclusively demonstrating that age is no barrier to continuous improvement. There was many an envious glance as Paul Rooke proudly accepted the magnificent Fred Filby cup as winner of the (2016) Boxing Day TT.

Richard Farrow Delighted with his wins

Viv “Silky Smooth” Smith and the Collard Shield

Paul Watson was a deserving winner of the Off Road Trophy, with Harley Gregory taking the under 17 equivalent, the Richard Pike Trophy. Harley also won the Fordham Trophy for the club’s best grass track performance.

Harley Gregory Rewarded for a Triumphant Season

The winners from the club’s Triathlon Championships at Fritton Lake all lined up to receive their awards. This club championships has fast become a fixture in the calendar and enables the club triathletes to compete against each other across age groups and Sprint, Standard and Olympic distances.

Club Triathlon Championship winners

The Golden Spike, awarded to the member who had the most misfortune while riding, was awarded to Sam Jackson for what was perhaps the most fortunate escape. Luckily we were able to reconstruct the drama to bring it to life for the Prize evening audience.

Sam Jackson… How did he do that!

The final award of the evening was the Edmund Mothersole Cup. All three nominees for the Cup gave outstanding efforts for the club and many found it difficult to select just one. Don Picking has given stalwart support in his years as President, Neil O’Brien has gone above and beyond in his continuing commitment to the future stars of the club’s triathlon section and Peter Heath has left an enduring legacy in the growth of the club during his long service as Membership Secretary. The results of the vote were announced on Saturday and the winner is… Peter! Congratulations and very well deserved.

Peter Heath – Mothersole Cup Winner

Roller Racing

Furious Pedalling and Legs-a-Blur

The club Roller Racing Championships were held alongside the Prize Giving. In the Senior Men’s competition, time trials determined the nine riders to compete in the three semi-finals. The semis were closely fought, but it was the club triathletes who dominated and filled all three slots in the final. New member Simon Wallace emerged as the clear winner with a smooth performance to beat a gritty showing from Malcolm MacFarlane in second and Matt Shingleton in third.

Malcolm gives it everything to win his semi-final

The Ladies competition was a straight run off between Laura Brown and Carol Watson with Laura pulling away in the last 150m to claim another win for the triathletes and another trophy to add to her impressive haul for 2017. Sadly there was only one entry for the Youth Roller Racing competition, so this has been postponed for another time.

Trophy Winners

Trophy Description Winner
Junior & Youth
Richard Pike Cup Best schoolboy under 17 years at Cyclocross Harley Gregory
Silver Spoon Trophy Best young / most improved rider at evening youth events Thomas Cotton
Schoolgirl Trophy Best schoolgirl under 17 years at all categories including Tri Kirsten O’Brien
Schoolboy Trophy Best schoolboy under 17 years at all categories including Tri Oscar Woodward
Junior Cup Best junior competitor (17 and 18) – all disciplines, including Tri Fraser Elsworth
Roller Racing Trophy Youth Roller Racing Competition Oscar Woodward
Senior Ladies
Quantril Trophy Fastest Ladies 10 Mile TT Laura Brown
Ladies TT Champion Best Lady Time Trialist (Award) Laura Brown
Millennium Trophy Highest Place Lady in TT Series Laura Brown
Rose Bowl Winner of ladies Club Roller Racing Competition Nicole Gregory
Super Sprint Series
Ladies (17-34)
Over 5 races with your best three results counting towards the trophy Swim – 400m Bike – 14km Run – 2.5km Laura Brown
Senior Men
Scott Cup Fastest Mens 25 Mile TT Paul Vickers Time: 51.15
Henley Cup Fastest Mens 50 Mile TT Paul Vickers Time: 1.51.12
Chenery Rose Bowl Winner of Senior Men Club Roller Racing Competition Chris Hinitt
Super Sprint Series
Male (35-47)
Swim – 400m Bike – 14km Run – 2.5km Scott Williams
Men & Ladies
Ray Legg 12 Hour Shield Greatest distance in 12 hour TT Dale Sturman Distance: 260.281 miles
100 Mile TT CUP Winner of Fastest Men’s 100 Mile TT Dale Sturman Time: 03:52:50
St Edmunds BAR Highest Average Speed for – 25/50/100 miles Paul Vickers Speed: 27.2mph
Fred Adams BAR Highest Average Speed – 10/25/50 miles Paul Vickers Speed: 28.05 mph
Bill Williams Cup Highest Placed Club Member in WSW Open 21 TT Paul Vickers
10 Mile Handicap Shield Winner of Club 10 Handicap Andy Ward Time: 18.09
25 Mile Handicap Shield Winner of Club 21 Handicap Richard Farrow
Evening Points Trophy Winner of Evening TT Points Richard Farrow
Collard Shield Winner of Collard Shield Points TT points series Viv ‘silky smooth’ Smith
Fred Filby Cup Winner of Boxing Day TT Paul Rooke
Coe Trophy Winner of Club Hill Climb Joe Kaye
Glasswell Cup Best Single Road or Circuit Race 1st – Cat 4 only Road Race Winners Tim Cuttings
& Joe Kaye
Grinsted Chalice Most consistent Road Racer Joe Kaye
Fordham Trophy Best competitor male or female at Grass Track Racing Harley Gregory
Novices Cup Best competitor in first year of competition – male or female – all disciplines including Tri Paul Turnhill
Off Road Events Trophy Best competitor overall at all off road categories Paul Watson
Vets Tankard Best competitor 40 years or over – male or female – all disciplines including Tri Paul Vickers
Transitions Trophy Fastest transition between run to bike and bike to run. Ray Reeves
Larkwood Open Water TT Fastest lap (250m) around Larkwood Lake Marc Verzijl
The Hoxley Cup Triathlete of the year, a short list is drawn up listing members performances and then voted for by all members Laura Brown
Golden Spike The member who had the most misfortune whilst riding……… Sam Jackson
Edmund Mothersole Cup Outstanding service to the Club Peter Heath


Club Triathlon Championships Winners

Age Winner Event
30/34 m Scott Williams Standard ,Sprint , Super Sprint
30/34 f Laura Brown Standard ,Sprint , Super Sprint
40/45 m Darren Sharman Standard ,Sprint , Super Sprint
45/49 m Pip Moore Sprint
  Rob Moore Standard
45/49 f Dawn Damaco Super Sprint
  Karen Page Sprint
50/54 m Malcolm Macfarlane Sprint, Super Sprint
  Ray Reeves Standard
55/59 f Janet Hardiker Super sprint
60+ Jill Wilshaw Super Sprint